Easter awards eggstravaganza

I appreciate enormously the encouragement and sense of community that comes from awards. As a blogger working through the process of recovery from domestic abuse, and trying very hard to share what I’ve learned along the way – it means a lot to me.

However, I’m so behind in keeping up with my nominations, that I’m following the example of the brilliant Brenda at Friendly Fairy Tales, and getting up to date in one fell swoop. So, here goes!

Easter chick

Original photo by Henkster

Thank you very much to the awesome Americana Injustica for nominating me for the Peace and Justice Award. A kindred soul and fearless fighter for the freedom to survive and thrive, Americana continues to knock me out with her courage and determination.

Much gratitude to the brave and bold betternotbroken for nominating me for my second Versatile Blogger Award. She’s an incredible sister-survivor that I admire tremendously.

Thank you also to the tremendous Turkeyboneheaven, for nominating me for the Brave Heart Award. Her blog about her story and journey out of abuse and trauma is truly inspiring.

Another huge thank you to the tremendous Teela Hart at Surviving Domestic Violence, for passing me the ‘I am part of the Word Press Family Award’. This very special and diamond-bright lady has touched my spirit in ways I can’t possibly articulate – and continues to cheer me on at every step.

I’m bending the rules (a lot) in my acceptance post here, by answering just the questions that came with my third nomination for the Liebster Award. This came from the marvelous Moms Hearts Unsilenced – a fascinating and useful blog for anyone grappling with the aftermath of abuse and the realities of parental alienation.

More about me:

1. If you haven’t already, do you plan to turn your blog into a book?

Perhaps, if I thought people would benefit from it. I’d never say never. Like everyone else, I do have a book in me, but for now, I’m concentrating on the blog.

2. What/who inspired you to blog?

Coming out of an abusive relationship, I needed a place to get out the hurt. Soon, this developed into sharing my experience and what I was learning. Many wonderful bloggers inspired me along the way, and still do.

3. Are you interested in a collaborative project?

I’m always open to interesting collaborations that add to the fight-back against domestic abuse in all of its forms. My first blogging collaboration was with the highly-knowledgeable Kim Saeed, where we discussed the impact of nature and nurture on those with Narcissistic Personality Disorder.

4. Have you made personal friendships though your blog?

Yes – you can find some of them in the Cut-Throat Clubhouse. They’re an inspiring crew, and very welcoming to feisty fellow survivors!

5. What keeps you blogging?

The desire and drive to help others who stand where I once stood. And, the sense of achievement in tracking my own journey out of the avalanche of abuse.

6. Do you have any future creative projects related to your blog subject?

Always! I just wish I had more time to progress them.

7. Do you have any advice for fellow bloggers?

Sincerity, passion, and compassion always shine bright.

8. How has blogging changed you and/or your life?

It hasn’t changed me, but it has helped me enormously in my recovery from domestic abuse. It has changed how I spend some of my time. As a single-mother, time is a precious commodity so I have to plan carefully to carve out the time I need for my blog.

9. Do you blog anonymously? Why or why not?

I blog anonymously, for safety reasons due to my stalking abusive ex.

10. Do you feel blogging is a social responsibility for you?

Yes I do. I feel everyone that writes on domestic abuse fulfils a social responsibility, in that we try to help others. In addition, I feel a sense of personal responsibility for everyone who reads my blog. For this reason, I am always honest and realistic. I also ensure that the risks around living with and escaping from domestic abuse are clear in my posts.

11. How do you decide on what you are going to blog about in your next post?

When a topic occurs to me, I write it on my list. I have a long list! Sometimes, I sit down to write and the topic comes to me then. At other times, something I have seen or felt that day sets off a light-bulb in my head, so I write about that.

My nominees:

Avalanche would be nothing without the inspirational, fabulous people who take the time to visit and contribute. Your support continues to make worthwhile the blood, sweat and tears that goes into my efforts here. For this reason, I nominate all of you for these awards – with my love, gratitude and prayers for you on your own journey.

© Avalanche of the Soul, 2013-14
https://avalancheofthesoul.wordpress.com
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 responses to “Easter awards eggstravaganza

  1. You go, girl!! You’re an inspiration, and you deserve your accolades! I hope your stalking ex never finds you again, and you feel purged and joyful again. Many hugs, Brenda

    Like

  2. Hey Triple S,
    You deserve these awards and more. You have been such an inspiration and a huge help with the things I and so many others need to understand about DV.
    Congratulations and thank you for the beautiful words.
    ❤ ❤

    Like

  3. Touche, Triple S!!!
    You’ve become much more like the Saint Bernard Rescue Dog that comes to do the dogging and reviving after an avalanche…in my opinion, at least…thank you for your support and encouragement, you are such a gem.

    Like

Have your voice heard, here! (Anonymous comments accepted)

