Every voice matters: Why we all should be Freshly Pressed

I’m NOT Freshly Pressed – but I believe we all should be. Every voice matters in the fight-back against domestic violence.

notfreshlypressedA big thank you to the brilliant Battered Wife Seeks Better Life for her kind nomination for the ‘I’m NOT Featured On Freshly Pressed Award.’ Her encouraging words – and everyone who takes the time to ‘like’ or comment on a post – help spur me on.

I knew so little about domestic violence

If I were ever to make it on to that glittering Freshly Pressed list, I’d be pleased. Back when I was trapped in domestic violence, I knew so little about the dynamics of abuse. I thought the man that I then saw as the love of my life just had some problems. I didn’t realise that I couldn’t help him fix them.

I wasn’t a self-aware surfer actively seeking out information about domestic abuse. Maybe if I’d stumbled across an article that spoke to me, I’d have opened my eyes and escaped sooner.

I was that woman who didn’t do enough

Reflecting back in time, I was that woman who used to get out of bed to intervene when I heard my neighbour screaming at his girlfriend. I knew both of them well, but I didn’t realise that maybe, I could have done more than calm him down and offer her a shoulder to cry on. Eventually, they split up and I moved away. Later, I heard he broke his new partner’s arm.

Further back still, though I was outraged that my own mother was beaten by my father, it never occurred to me that domestic abuse is too often a hidden, but hideously common, occurrence.

I didn’t know anything about domestic abuse at all, really. Until it happened to me. Until I realised I couldn’t take it anymore, and took the dangerous step of leaving. Only then did I start searching for information – especially online. Only then did I understand that abuse affects many more people than we imagine, and anyone that cares is capable of making a difference. Unfortunately, we have to dig hard for the knowledge.

Awareness is crucial

Photo by anitapatterson

Photo by anitapatterson

Although domestic violence is thought to affect 30 per cent of the world’s women, there’s a major blind spot in the public psyche. It is so common, we barely notice. We labour under misunderstandings that abused women are somehow ‘asking for it’, because we stay with our abuser longer than the world thinks we should. We are surrounded by a media that sexualises and objectifies women, and industries that thrive on sex and violence.

There’s still so much to do in the fight against domestic violence. Each and every blog that talks about what has been termed a global epidemic, each and every blogger that speaks out or shares their story – they should all be Freshly Pressed.

I nominate you all!

So, I nominate all of you for the ‘I’m NOT Featured On Freshly Pressed Award’, with my thanks to its insightful creator, Don Charisma. As there are scores of bloggers that I admire in this wonderful Word Press community, I can’t list you all.

In the spirit of Freshly Pressed, therefore, I’d like to specifically pass this award to the following blogs that resonate with me – but which I have only recently discovered:

Better not Broken
Fighting the Abuse
Mother Almighty
The Breakfast Bubble Blues
The Phoenix Again
The Secret Window

All are doing a great job in raising awareness of domestic abuse, and generously sharing their stories.

 > Rules for accepting the award

1. Select the blog(s) you think deserve the “The I’m NOT Featured On Freshly Pressed Award”.

2. Write a blog post and tell us the blog(s) you have chosen- there are no minimum or maximum number of blogs required- and ‘present’ the blog(s) with their award.

3. Include in your blog post a paragraph about why you’d like to be on WordPress’ Freshly Pressed OR a paragraph on why you couldn’t care less about Freshly Pressed. Up to you

4. Let the blog(s) that you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the instructions with them- (please don’t alter the instructions or the badge!)

5. Come over and say hello to the originator of the “The I’m NOT Featured On Freshly Pressed Award” via this link: http://DonCharisma.org/2014/01/01/the-im-not-featured-on-freshly-pressed-award

6. And as a winner of the award- please add a link back to the blog that presented you with this award, and then PROUDLY display the award on your blog.

7. If you ever do get officially “Freshly Pressed” then take down this award badge and display the official “Freshly Pressed” badge instead.

Photo by xJasonRogersx

Photo by xJasonRogersx

ALSO SEE: Other awards for Avalanche on the Blog Awards page.

© Avalanche of the Soul, 2013-14
https://avalancheofthesoul.wordpress.com

14 responses to “Every voice matters: Why we all should be Freshly Pressed

  1. Congratulations! I agree, those who have poured their hearts and souls on the subject should get more Press. The growing concern of DV should be heard by all. Thank you for this post as I believe you speak for us all when it comes to the Freshly Pressed category. We want our story to be heard and we want it to be spread to the masses.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think you’ve hit the nail exactly on the head here, Teela. The statistics are shocking, but (unless we are unfortunate enough to be one of the 30 per cent) we rarely hear the stories behind them. And stories – like yours – resonate in a way that numbers can’t. They can create change. More people should have access to them.

      Like

      • I believe that what we’re doing is helping. Getting the stories out. Sharing information. Passing on learning. It is hard because there is still so much stigma attached (and fear, for people like me who currently need to blog anonymously).

        Domestic violence is part of broader issues, like:
        1) a consumer-driven media that makes money on the back of glamourising violence against women
        2) a society in which there is an unequal playing field for men and women
        3) a court system and tabloid press that encourages victim-blaming and shaming.

        Plus, so many others! The point, for me, is that we need to make the links between domestic violence and other forms of social inequality.

        😉

        Like

  2. Pingback: I’m NOT Featured on Freshly Pressed Award! | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!·

Have your voice heard, here! (Anonymous comments accepted)

