PTSD in the Aftermath of Narcissistic Abuse

If you’ve experienced domestic abuse, you may have PTSD or C-PTSD. Check out this great post on Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder – both of which arise from experiencing significant trauma.

Let Me Reach with Kim Saeed

Victims of Narcissistic abuse almost always leave the relationship with PTSD and/or C-PTSD.  These acronyms stand for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

PTSD results from experiencing a devastatingly stressful event or series of events.  C-PTSD is similar, resulting from persistent psychological trauma within an environment in which the victim believes there’s no possibility of escape.  There is a perceived sense of helplessness and one’s sense of self is annihilated.

Victims of Narcissistic abuse experience both.  Let’s say Judy is in a relationship with a Narcissist.  Because of brainwashing, the breakdown of her friendships, and constant verbal abuse, she now believes she is worthless and no one else would be interested in her.  Additionally, the last two times she tried to leave, she was stalked, harassed, and intimidated until she came back.  In her mind, there is no escape.  She is experiencing C-PTSD.

In addition to the…

View original post 492 more words

2 responses to “PTSD in the Aftermath of Narcissistic Abuse

  1. I was in a very abusive relationship for 8 years ..He is a narc with pyscho & substance issues & I see it more & more daily.. It’s amazing & crazy how smart & evil they are .. use is there middle name.
    I forgave over & over . He broke my hand twice, black eyes, strangling,verbal,emotional, sexual& spiritual abuse .. He left 1 1/2 ago because I didn’t buy tons of gifts for Christmas & I didn’t answer my
    phone shopping with my boys for 2 hours. He would make up lies & beleives them & I would show proof & he would years later bring it up. The last year n half he has tried to say I’m zero & have a ego & I caught him in lies, secrets, & he sends me messages out of the blue of accusations & hatful junk . I’m doing better but one thing I thought was real wasn’t & the only thing I miss is when it was connection & sex but I’m learning all lies .. It’s just hard . I’m 44 & before that relationship I was married 17 years to a drug addict & alcholic, is there hope ??
    I have been reading no dating & loving me, I’m beutiful inside out & I have 2 handsome boys & beautiful granddaughter & I thank God & my angels daily for protecting me & grace & love. I tried counsel but I’m a single mother no child support & is there counsellors for narc victims & PTds? I have it .. Working out.. Praying more than I breathe moment to moment & my sons make me keep moving forward .. But it’s crazy the damage they do to u ..

    Like

Have your voice heard, here! (Anonymous comments accepted)

